Book Review: A Scholar of Magics

A Scholar of Magics by Caroline Stevemer

I was actually rather surprised that I liked this one as much as I did. I was frightfully worried that it was either going to start preaching at me or turn into a romance novel. Niether dread event happened though so I’m pleased to say that I really liked this one.

It’s set in the early 1900’s, but an alternate universe one. It’s as much about finding your true self as it is about magic, science and adventure. The hero is an American sharpshooter in England helping with a government project at GlassCastle – the magic equivalent of Oxford. He meets up with a schoolteacher who’s been living and teaching in France for several years.

The heroine is lively and sharp witted, and the hero is sweet and genuine. I liked both of them right off and would actually have cheered them getting together if it did turn into a romance, but it was far too well written to be that kind of drivel.

I highly reccomend the book to any and all.

Leave a Reply

