Book Review: Not Buying It: My Year Without Shopping

Not Buying It: My Year Without Shopping by Judith Levine

It’s definitely readable. The author is a good writer.

That said, I have so little sympathy, empathy or compassion for the author that I’m actually not sure why I pressed through. Probably because there is always something positive in a book.

She comes off as a spoiled, New York, wanna-be rebel, liberal with a chip on her shoulder. I pitied her more than I empathized with her when she couldn’t find her “special socks” or ran out of “hoisin” sauce. Over-all, I wanted to repeatedly take her over my knee and smack her with the “I’m not a martyr” paddle. Somehow, I don’t think it would work. Rather it would just make her more sure that she was.

“Look at me! I’m voluntarily simple.”

On the plus side, she did show how completely shallow her friends were. Most of my friends consider spending time together something you do oh, say, at your house? At someplace free like a park. You know, that really big one they have in NYC? I think it’s called… Central Park? Yeah, that’s it. Go for a freaking walk you uptight Yuppie creeps. Have a picnic. Spend time with your FRIEND not DOING something.

Oh, wait, you’re not supposed to be a radical hippie before you finish the book. Sorry.

I think the most enjoyable part of the experience for me was that, as a more than simply second-hand book it had at the views of at least three other people in the margins. Now, it has four as I’ve added my thoughts.

I got it through bookmooch. You should either get it there, the library, or a second hand shop. Really, it’s only fitting.

If you don’t want to though, the Amazon link is below.

Leave a Reply

