Fake Plastic Fish Challenge 1 Week’s worth of plastic

5/18/09
1 snack Cheetos bag (plastic and foil fusion)
1 snack Doritos bag (plastic and foil fusion)
1 soup container (which will become an African violet pot soon)
1 plastic spoon
1 plastic fork
1 polystyrene take-out container (not sure if this plastic. In fact I have no idea what polystyrene is made of beyond “chemicals”)
1 plastic bag (too dirty to recycle)
1 packet of soy sauce

5/19/09
1 styrofoam plate (Styrofoam is plastic… right? I think… It’s not natural…)
1 wax paper liner from the deli (not sure where this falls)

5/20/09
1 McD’s coffee cup top
1 Sweet and Sour dipping sauce container

5/21/09
bulk Q-tips box
1 McD’s lg. soda and cover
1 Sweet and Sour dipping sauce container
2 Cheetos snack pack bags

5/22/09
2 Cheetos snack pack bags
1 plastic Fresh City bag
1 plastic food container from Fresh City
1 plastic soup cover from Fresh City
1 plastic fork

5/23/09
1 deli bag from turkey breast slices
1 plastic water bottle I found in the trunk.
wrap from a sleeve of oreos
3 plastic tag hangers from clothes
1 plastic shopping bag from clothes
1 plastic water bottle

5/24/09
1 veg sticker on pepper
polystyrene tray for corn
shrink wrap on corn
plastic tape on box of canned green beans
shrink wrap on 6 pack of tuna
tomato box
shrink wrap on twin pack of eggs
potato bag and clip
bag of fish guts (blech)

5/25/09
1 Boston Market dish and cover
1 Soup container cover

Analysis Questions:

What items could I easily replace with plastic-free or less plastic alternatives?
– take shopping bags with me for clothes shopping
– take cloth produce bags shopping
– do not buy bulk packs or pre-packed veggies
– do not buy bulk packs of tuna wrapped in plastic
– go inside at McD’s and use the cover of the chicken nuggets to hold the sauce
– use reusable forks and spoons at work
– keep a bottle of soy sauce at work
– take reusable containers for the deli

What items would I be willing to give up if a plastic-free alternative doesn’t exist?
– Sweet and sour sauce
– Plastic water
– Chips

How many of these items are from “convenience” foods that could be made from scratch with less packaging but might take more time to prepare?
– Take out food.
– Oreos
– Mmm…. everything else is an ingredient

What items are essential and seem to have no plastic-free alternative?

What lifestyle change(s) might be necessary to reduce my plastic consumption?
– bring my own lunch (*sobs*)
– no shopping at BJ’s

What one plastic item am I willing to give up or replace this week?
– water bottles (This is a cheat as I haven’t bought water in months and am just getting rid of bottles that are hiding in the house)
– produce bags – just have to get down to the sewing machine.

What other conclusions, if any, can I draw?
– I need to get my parents (other shoppers) involved in this too.
– It’d be lovely if the fruit and veg didn’t have plastic stickers on them.

One comment on “Fake Plastic Fish Challenge 1 Week’s worth of plastic

  1. Fake Plastic Fish says:

    Hi. Thanks for taking the challenge. I love that you posted by the day.This afternoon, I created a sub-blog of Fake Plastic Fish to collect all the tallies that have come in. It's here:http://www.showyourplastic.fakeplasticfish.comSince you are already familiar with Blogger, I'd love to send you an Invite so you can copy your tally to the new site, and of course link back to your site. This way, if you decide to continue with the challenge, you can add a new post any time you want.Please email me at beth[at]fakeplasticfish[dot]com and let me know if you want me to send you the Invite or if you'd rather I copy your post to the new site myself.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.