Movie Review: Food, Inc.

Food, Inc. is a documentary about the food industry. It visits chicken farmers, beef farmers, corn growers and more. It talks to the people involved in it. It talks to the journalists who have spent their time researching the process. This is a very human movie.

Some of it is just enough to make me reconsider where I’m getting my produce. I have local farmers. I have local meat farmers. I’m more than willing to support.

It paints a fairly negative picture of the current industry, but I don’t think that’s a bad thing. I think it sparks conversation. I think that the industry has enough voices involved in the processes in Washington and the media.

Chipotle sponsored showings of it. I give them great props for that because so many of the large corporations such as Perdue, Tyson, Monsato didn’t agree to be interviewed. However, the authors of Fast Food Nation and Omnivore’s Dilemma did agree to it. So did many of the farmers and workers on the ground in this new style of making food. I think refusing to be interviewed was the stupidest move that these corporations could have made. There’s no voice for them in this film and the simple “so and so refused to be interviewed for this film” is incredibly powerful.

I think this is a must-see movie. It does it’s job. It makes you *think*. That’s the most important part of any documentary. Even if you don’t agree with the arguments that come out of it, you should at least know where the arguments are coming from. I also highly recommend the book of readings for Food, Inc. that you can get to accompany the film.

Leave a Reply

