Borders Enters Chapter 11

I feel as if I should say something about Borders going into Chapter 11. The thing is, I don’t really care.

I’ve never been that fond of Borders. I’ve always preferred Barnes & Noble. And now that I have a nook, that preference is more pronounced.

As long-time readers of this blog know, I don’t shop at Amazon anymore. I’ve been boycotting them for so long that I don’t even bother to go to the website anymore.

All of my links (well, all the ones that I’ve changed) lead to Powell’s books now.

With Borders starting it’s reboot phase, I’m sort of hoping that the way will be clear for smaller bookshops to start up again. I mean, it’s a pain in the butt to try to fight a 400 pound gorilla, when what you really want to do is sell a targeted type of book. (Heck, I bet you could do an entire store of romance novels and not break a sweat. Make a pretty penny too, I think.)

They’re closing 200 stores. I’m hoping that the one my writing group drinks coffee at isn’t on the list, but if it is? We’ll just move down the road a bit. I mean, seriously, there’s two Borders and a B&N on the same street.

In summary? It’s just Chapter 11 people. Stop with the doom and gloom predictions. Yes, it’s going to be a little hard for them, but like KMart/Sears/1000’s of other big businesses, they still have a chance to pull it out of the death spiral. You want them to survive? Why don’t you try shopping *there* instead of Amazon?

Leave a Reply

