Better Late Than Never

So, I missed banned books week. I think… anyways, whatever, I don’t hold with censorship. (Though I don’t mind manners and etiquette.)

This is a list of Banned classic books from the ALA website. Like most book memes bold means I’ve read it and italics means I own it. Feel free to snag and share it.

1. The Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald

2. The Catcher in the Rye, by JD Salinger (Though heaven knows *why* I still own a copy.)

3. The Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck

4. To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee (If you haven’t read this one, you really should. It’s excellent.)

5. The Color Purple, by Alice Walker

6. Ulysses, by James Joyce (At least, I’m fairly certain it’s in the house somewhere.)

7. Beloved, by Toni Morrison

8. The Lord of the Flies, by William Golding

9. 1984, by George Orwell (Read me! Read me! NOW. Before the next election.)

10. Lolita, by Vladimir Nabokov

11. Of Mice and Men, by John Steinbeck

12. Catch-22, by Joseph Heller

13. Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley (Did you go to FDU? If so, I say to you “A squat grey” Discuss.)

14. Animal Farm, by George Orwell

15. The Sun Also Rises, by Ernest Hemingway

16. As I Lay Dying, by William Faulkner

17. A Farewell to Arms, by Ernest Hemingway

18. Their Eyes Were Watching God, by Zora Neale Hurston

19. Invisible Man, by Ralph Ellison (At least, I think I read this one. I’m pretty sure it was on my English reading list one year.)

20. Song of Solomon, by Toni Morrison

21. Gone with the Wind, by Margaret Mitchell

22. Native Son, by Richard Wright

23. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, by Ken Kesey

24. Slaughterhouse Five, by Kurt Vonnegut

25. For Whom the Bell Tolls, by Ernest Hemingway

26. The Call of the Wild, by Jack London

27. Go Tell It on the Mountain, by James Baldwin

28. All the King’s Men, by Robert Penn Warren

29. The Lord of the Rings, by J.R.R. Tolkien

30. The Jungle, by Upton Sinclair

31. Lady Chatterley’s Lover, by D.H. Lawrence

32. A Clockwork Orange, by Anthony Burgess (I’ve seen the movie, but not read the book yet)

33. The Awakening, by Kate Chopin (I’m working on this one.)

34. In Cold Blood, by Truman Capote

35. Satanic Verses, by Salman Rushdie

36. Sophie’s Choice, by William Styron

37. Sons and Lovers, by D.H. Lawrence

38. Cat’s Cradle, by Kurt Vonnegut

39. A Separate Peace, by John Knowles

40. Naked Lunch, by William S. Burroughs

41. Brideshead Revisited, by Evelyn Waugh

42. Women in Love, by DH Lawrence

43. The Naked and the Dead, by Norman Mailer

44. Tropic of Cancer, by Henry Miller

45. An American Tragedy, by Theodore Dreiser

46. Rabbit, Run, by John Updike

So, that’s 12 for me so far. I take this as a challenge….

Leave a Reply

